My Experience with LetsGrowMore Summer Of Code as a participant.

My Experience with LetsGrowMore Summer Of Code as a participant.

I am Priyanshu Paliwal, a 3rd Year Computer Engineering student at St. Vincent Pallotti College of Engineering and Technology, Nagpur.

LGMSOC was an Open Source Program by LetsGrowMore(letsgrowmore.in) organization.

Firstly, when LGMSOC was launched and all the students were applying and getting selected, I was not knowing about it but when all the students when getting selected as a mentor or participant in LGMSOC started to share their LGMSOC badge on LinkedIn then I started searching about it and got to know about it.

LGMSOC was an Open Source program where everyone from beginner to advanced developers can participate as a Project Admin, Mentors, and Participant and contribute to Open Source projects.

I also applied and got selected as a participant in LGMSOC, then I started looking into projects on which I can contribute I saw many projects where the tech stack was Python, Java, Android Projects, Flutter Projects there were many of them. You can also see them here at lgmsoc.co. But at that time I was doing Flutter development and then I decided to contribute to Flutter projects and there I found 2 projects to which I can contribute.

#Upcharika and #Doclense

#Upcharika This is a mobile application by which we can measure our heartRate and also Oxygen Levels but this function is not implemented yet. I found this project much interesting and then I saw the issues section of this project. There were some issues and I also opened 2-3 issues in the project. My 8 Pull requests were merged in this project. When you contribute to any project opensource. I was thinking like this is my project and I have developed it. This was a great feeling contributing to such a great project. Now also I see If something I can contribute to this project. Project link: github.com/smaranjitghose/Upcharika

#Doclense This is also a mobile application to scan documents. This project is also a great project and I was assigned 2 issues here but I was only able to make a pull request of one of them. Project link: github.com/smaranjitghose/DocLense

In total, in LGMSOC my 9 pull requests were merged in 2 projects.

This was a great program and it helped many students across India to enhance their skills by working on different projects. My experience with LGMSOC was great, I connected with different people and also interacted with the help of which my network grew.

LetsGrowMore is an organization that helps students in many ways like internships, career guidance, and many more things. You can visit their website to know more about them. Link: letsgrowmore.in

Thank you LetsGrowMore and LGMSOC's whole team for organizing such a great program for students.

You can connect with me on LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/priyanshupaliwal078 My GitHub profile: github.com/Priyanshu078